MED CAMPUS

A campus that unites everything: spacious study zones for effective learning, comfortable seating for creative breaks from thinking, modern labs for innovative research projects, fully equipped lecture halls for educating the medical professionals of tomorrow and proximity to University Hospital for a health concept of the future. With MED CAMPUS Graz, a new space has been created for the innovative ideas and future-oriented thinking of thousands of employees and students.

A campus that unites everything

Studierende auf dem Fahrrad

FLAGSHIP PROJECT FOR SUSTAINABILITY

Following our motto "sustainable living. learning. researching," we are aware of our responsibility to society and take our role as a flagship project for sustainability very seriously: Module 1 of MED CAMPUS Graz is the first research and laboratory building in Austria to receive the highest level of certification from the Austrian Sustainable Building Council (ÖGNI)—the result of a holistic approach that unites economic, environmental and social aspects and sets new standards. Expanded connections for public transportation and a carefully planned bike path network are important steps for sustainable mobility.

MED CAMPUS Graz

OPEN SPACE FOR LIVING

At this location, teaching, research and patient care are connected not only symbolically by bridges: The modern architecture shows the close cooperation in these areas, which constitutes our university's recipe for success. Openness, accessibility and communication play important roles, and this is reflected in the numerous meeting areas for exchanging ideas and culinary offerings. The entire potential of MED CAMPUS Graz will be realized when Module 2 is completed in 2022.

MED CAMPUS Graz

FUTURE-ORIENTED RESTRUCTURING

MED CAMPUS Graz makes visible the future-oriented restructuring of Med Uni Graz, which has simplified the organization of research and teaching and improved their quality. In addition to the merging of the preclinical and clinical areas of Med Uni Graz as well as University Hospital, this physical restructuring is also primarily expressed in the merging of institutes into centers and the establishment of ZMFII areas for research projects and core facilities. This reorganization should accelerate the dynamics of internal cooperation.

MED CAMPUS Graz

ART

Works of art on the subject of medicine enrich the campus, inspiring all (future) researchers and medical doctors to decipher the complex interactions within the human body. Where is a better place to take a break than between the artistic works of Manfred Erjautz, Matt Mullican, Esther Stocker and Misha Stroj?

Kinderbetreuung

kinderCAMPUS

In 2014 kinderCAMPUS, the Med Uni Graz child care facility, opened as part of our campus. Our university staff can find the right program for their children. Depending on their situation and needs, staff have the choice of a day nursery, a kindergarten, a mixed-aged group of children and care by day parents (Betriebstageseltern). Our diverse programs and projects should arouse a child's curiosity, encourage critical thinking, imagination and creativity and make it fun to learn, research, and discover.

Medical Science City

MEDICAL SCIENCE CITY

Med Uni Graz and University Hospital Graz stand for constructive knowledge transfer between teaching, research and the hospital. The Center for Medical Research, the Center for Knowledge and Technology Transfer in Medicine, Biobank Graz and many other institutions provide the perfect research infrastructure, which rises to a fully new level on the premises of MED CAMPUS Graz and encourages interdisciplinary networking within the Med Uni Graz community. Under the name Medical Science City, a new city district for health has emerged, making Styria one of Europe's leading medical centers.

The basic idea was to unite all Med Uni Graz institutes at one location in direct proximity to the hospital with the goal of driving forward research and teaching as well as strengthening cooperation. This is also reflected in the structure of the building, which was deliberately designed to be open in order to promote horizontal and vertical communication.

Hellmut Samonigg, Rector of Med Uni Graz

MED CAMPUS GRAZ IS A PLACE

  • where the clinical and non-clinical areas are brought together into one company, the Medical University of Graz
  • where the creation of profiles and priorities in teaching and research go beyond existing structural limits
  • where resource use, synergy formation and the capacity to develop are optimal

MED CAMPUS GRAZ IS A SPACE

  • for communication among teaching staff, researchers, students and staff
  • for creative exchange between teaching staff and researchers from different disciplines who are active in the medical field
  • for visions and role models, for future-oriented thinking by students, teaching staff, researchers and staff

MED CAMPUS GRAZ IS AN OPPORTUNITY

  • to provide barrier-free access to the teaching, research and communication campus
  • to establish a university location with a sustainable design and use
  • to stimulate a regional economic space and to develop into an attractive university

ART ON CAMPUS

MANFRED ERJAUTZ: "SHELTER (HIGH TOUCH)"

Eight figures stand or lie upside down around in the opening of the facade at the campus entrance: a fetus, a newborn, a child, a young person, a pregnant woman, a man, a frail man and a skeleton. The figures grow—each in the color of the square of the facade in which it is located—out of the facade. Cast in aluminum and painted or coated in powder, they feature the human body and the changes in its constitution over the course of a lifetime.

MATT MULLICAN: "CANVAS RUBBING PROJECT"

Yellow-primed canvases have been hung to cover three walls in the auditorium foyer. Illustrations were applied to the canvas with oil pastels using the frottage technique. The motifs deal with the subject "communication inside and outside the body." Processes within the body as well as scenes from the story of the relationship between doctors and patients are depicted. Several symbols from Matt Mullican's self-developed imagery and systematics can also be found.

ESTHER STOCKER: "CRUMPLED OBJECT"

Located at ground level, Esther Stocker's spherical sculpture resembles an artificial stone or rock. A square pattern is printed on the surface of hardened truck tarp, which is greatly folded and crumpled. With this scrunched up shape, she creates an image of the many discarded ideas with which researchers are confronted time and time again.

MISHA STROJ: "ON A BODY"

A "lab of another kind" hangs at the top of the steps by the entrance to the lecture hall: a type of shelf or case that includes the floor area of the numerous labs of the campus in its grid. Each work in the individual wood cases records a chain of test results. Several cases are enclosed in glass; several remain open.

JOHANES ZECHNER: "THE TRUNKS"

The orchards of the Graz Sisters of the Holy Cross were formerly found on the premises of MED CAMPUS Graz. Over the course of the development, trees were cut down. Their trunks were cut into boards and stored. The trunks of those apple trees are now on display in the farewell room of the pathology department. They have been brought into a floating formation that evokes a morphology of temporality along with the color of the room and the light.

Hans Sünkel

An extensive reorganization of basic research is also associated with MED CAMPUS Graz, for twelve formerly preclinical institutes have been pooled into three interdisciplinary centers.

Hans Sünkel, Chair of the University Council

MED CAMPUS

MED CAMPUS Graz

Ein Campus, der alles vereint: weitläufige Studierzonen für effektives Lernen, gemütliche Sitzgelegenheiten für kreative Denkpausen, moderne Labors für innovative Forschungsprojekte, voll ausgestattete Hörsäle für die Ausbildung der Mediziner*innen von morgen und die Nähe zum Universitätsklinikum für ein Gesundheitskonzept der Zukunft. Mit dem MED CAMPUS Graz wurde neuer Raum für innovative Ideen und zukunftsorientiertes Denken Tausender Mitarbeiter*innen und Studierender geschaffen.

Ein Campus, der alles vereint

Studierende auf dem Fahrrad

Vorzeigeprojekt für Nachhaltigkeit

Nach unserem Leitsatz „nachhaltig leben. lernen. forschen“ sind wir uns der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung bewusst und nehmen die Rolle als Vorzeigeprojekt für Nachhaltigkeit sehr ernst: Als erstes Forschungs- und Laborgebäude Österreichs erhielt das Modul 1 am MED CAMPUS Graz die höchste Zertifizierungsstufe der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für nachhaltiges Bauen (ÖGNI) – das Ergebnis eines ganzheitlichen Zugangs, der ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Aspekte vereint und neue Maßstäbe setzt. Erweiterte Anbindungen für den öffentlichen Verkehr und ein durchdachtes Radwegenetz setzen wichtige Schritte für ein sanftes Mobilitätskonzept.

MED CAMPUS Graz

Offener Lebensraum

An diesem Ort sind Lehre, Forschung und die Betreuung von Patient*innen nicht nur symbolisch durch Brücken verbunden: Die moderne Architektur zeigt die enge Zusammenarbeit dieser Bereiche, die das Erfolgskonzept unserer Universität ausmacht. Offenheit, Zugänglichkeit und Kommunikation spielen dabei wichtige Rollen, dies spiegelt sich in zahlreichen Begegnungszonen zum Ideenaustausch und einem ansprechenden gastronomischen Angebot wider. Das gesamte Potenzial des MED CAMPUS Graz wird sich mit der Fertigstellung des Moduls 2 im Jahr 2022 entfalten.

MED CAMPUS Graz

Zukunftsorientierte Neuausrichtung

Wesentliche Grundlage des MED CAMPUS Graz ist die zukunftsorientierte Neuausrichtung der Med Uni Graz, durch die die Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit der Med Uni Graz organisatorisch vereinfacht und qualitativ verbessert werden. Neben der örtlichen Zusammenführung der vorklinischen mit den klinischen Bereichen der Med Uni Graz sowie mit dem LKH-Univ. Klinikum Graz äußert sich dies vor allem in der Zusammenführung von Instituten in Zentren und der Etablierung sogenannter ZMFII-Flächen für Forschungsprojekte sowie Core Facilities. Durch diese Neuorganisation soll eine Steigerung der Dynamik der internen Zusammenarbeit erreicht werden.

MED CAMPUS Graz

Kunst

Als Inspiration für alle (zukünftigen) Forscher*innen und Mediziner*innen, das komplexe Zusammenspiel im menschlichen Körper zu entschlüsseln, bereichern Kunstwerke rund um das Thema Medizin den Campus. Wo ließe sich die kreative Schaffenspause besser verbringen als zwischen den künstlerischen Arbeiten von Manfred Erjautz, Matt Mullican, Esther Stocker und Misha Stroj?

Kinderbetreuung

kinderCAMPUS

Als Teil unseres Campus wurde 2014 der kinderCAMPUS, die Kinderbetreuungseinrichtung der Med Uni Graz, eröffnet. Hier können Mitarbeiter*innen unserer Universität das richtige Angebot für ihre Kinder finden. Je nach Situation und Bedürfnissen bieten wir eine Kinderkrippe, den Kindergarten, eine alterserweiterte Gruppe sowie die Betreuung durch Betriebstageseltern. Mit abwechslungsreichen Angeboten und Projekten wollen wir kindliche Neugier wecken, kritisches Denken, Fantasie und Kreativität anregen und Spaß am Lernen, Forschen und Entdecken ermöglichen.

Medical Science City

Medical Science City

Die Med Uni Graz und das LKH-Universitätsklinikum Graz stehen für einen konstruktiven Wissenstransfer zwischen Lehre, Forschung und Klinik. Das Zentrum für Medizinische Forschung, das Zentrum für Wissens- und Technologietransfer in der Medizin, die Biobank Graz und viele weitere Einrichtungen bieten die perfekte Forschungsinfrastruktur, die durch die Räumlichkeiten des MED CAMPUS Graz auf ein völlig neues Level gehoben wird und zur interdisziplinären Vernetzung einlädt. Zusammengefasst als Medical Science City ist hier ein neuer Stadtteil für die Gesundheit entstanden, der die Steiermark zu einem der führenden medizinischen Zentren Europas macht.

Die Grundidee war, alle Institute der Med Uni Graz an einem Standort in unmittelbarer Nähe des klinischen Bereiches zu vereinen, um Forschung und Lehre voranzutreiben, aber auch Kooperationen zu stärken. Das spiegelt sich auch im Baukörper wider, der bewusst offen gestaltet ist, um die horizontale und vertikale Kommunikation zu fördern.

Hellmut Samonigg, Rektor der Med Uni Graz

Der MED CAMPUS Graz ist ein Ort

  • der Zusammenführung des klinischen und nicht-klinischen Bereichs zu einem Unternehmen Medizinische Universität Graz
  • zur Profil- und Schwerpunktbildung in der Lehre und Forschung über bestehende strukturelle Grenzen hinweg
  • zur optimalen Ressourcennutzung, Synergiebildung und Entwicklungsfähigkeit

Der MED CAMPUS Graz ist ein Raum

  • zur Kommunikation von Lehrenden, Forschenden, Studierenden und Mitarbeiter*innen
  • zum kreativen Austausch von in der Medizin tätigen Lehrenden und Forschenden unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen
  • zur Visions- und Vorbildfindung, zur Zukunftsorientierung für Studierende, Lehrende, Forschende und Mitarbeiter*innen

Der MED CAMPUS Graz ist eine Chance

  • auf einen barrierefreien Zugang zum Lehr-, Forschungs- und Kommunikationscampus
  • auf Errichtung eines Universitätsstandortes mit nachhaltiger Konzeption und Nutzung
  • auf Impulssetzung im regionalen Wirtschaftsraum und Entwicklung zu einer attraktiven Universität

Kunst am Campus

Manfred Erjautz: „shelter (high touch)“

Acht Figuren stehen bzw. liegen verkehrt herum im Fassadendurchbruch des Campuseingangs: Fötus, Neugeborenes, Kind, Jugendliche, schwangere Frau, Mann, gebrechlicher Mann und Skelett. Die Figuren wachsen – jede in der Farbe des Fassadenkaders, auf dem sie sich befinden – gleichsam aus der Fassade heraus. Sie sind aus Aluminium gegossen und lackiert bzw. pulverbeschichtet und thematisieren den menschlichen Körper und seine konstitutionellen Veränderungen im Laufe seines Lebens.

Matt Mullican: „canvas rubbing project“

An den drei Wänden des Aula-Foyers wurden gelb grundierte Leinwände raumgreifend angebracht. Illustrationen wurden mit der Frottage-Technik mit Ölkreide auf die Leinwände aufgebracht. Die Motive stehen unter dem Thema „Kommunikation im und außerhalb des Körpers“, dargestellt werden Prozesse im Körper, aber auch Szenen aus der Geschichte der Beziehung zwischen Ärzt*innen und Patient*innen. Einige Symbole aus Matt Mullicans selbst entwickelter Bildsprache und Systematik sind ebenfalls zu finden.

Esther Stocker: „Knitterobjekt“

Auf der Campusebene findet sich die kugelähnliche Skulptur von Esther Stocker, gleich einem künstlichen Stein oder Felsen. Die Oberfläche aus gehärteter Lkw-Plane ist mit einer Rasterstruktur bedruckt und stark gefaltet und geknittert. Mit dieser zerknüllten Form stellt sie den vielen verworfenen Ideen, mit denen Forscher*innen immer wieder konfrontiert sind, ein Bild gegenüber.

Misha Stroj: „An einem Körper“

Am Stiegenaufgang zum Hörsaal ist das „Labor der anderen Art“ angebracht: Es ist eine Art Regal bzw. Setzkasten, der in seinem Raster die Grundfläche der zahlreichen Labore des Campus übernimmt. Jede Arbeit in den einzelnen Holzkästen ist Protokoll einer Kette von Untersuchungsergebnissen. Einige Kästen sind mit Glas geschlossen, einige bleiben offen.

Johanes Zechner: „Die Stämme“

Auf dem Gelände des MED CAMPUS Graz befanden sich vormals Obstgärten der Grazer Kreuzschwestern. Im Zuge der Erschließung wurden die Bäume gefällt, deren Stämme zu Brettern geschnitten und aufbewahrt. Ausschnittweise werden die Stämme jener Apfelbäume nun im Verabschiedungsraum der Pathologie gezeigt. Sie wurden in eine schwebende Formation gebracht, die zusammen mit Raumfarbe und Licht eine Morphologie von Zeitlichkeit evozieren.

Hans Sünkel

Mit dem MED CAMPUS Graz ist auch eine weitreichende Reorganisation der Grundlagenforschung verbunden, wurden doch zwölf ehemals vorklinische Institute zu drei interdisziplinären Zentren gebündelt.

Hans Sünkel, Vorsitzender des Universitätsrats